No stopping Nomads

By Matt Nicholls (Armidale Independent, 03/09/2014)
New England booked a grand final berth with a thumping win against Inverell in the Tamworth AFL competition on Saturday.

The Nomads flew out of the blocks to lead by 18 points at the first break, before kicking 6.5 to 1.1 in the second term to have the game wrapped up at half time.

The Nomads went on to win 16.11 (107) to 5.9 (39).

The margin could have been bigger, if not for the game finishing early in the final quarter when an Inverell player hurt his neck.

Winning coach Zac Economou, who kicked three goals at full-forward, said he was impressed with the win.

”I think that will give a bit more belief to the group now,” he said.

”We weren’t sure what to expect after Inverell beat us last time.”

The Nomads could well face the Saints on Saturday week in the grand final.

New England has a week off, while Inverell hosts the Tamworth Kangaroos in the preliminary final.

”It should be a really good game, that,” Economou said.

”Both sides will be playing for a spot in the grand final.”

The coach said he didn’t mind which side he faced in the premiership decider.

”I think we’ll just worry about our own game more than anything,” he said.

”The week off is going to mean a fair bit to us.”

Players such as Weston Whitby and some of the older players, including Economou, will relish the break.

”There are a few sore bodies,” the coach said.

New England’s win was sparked by livewire small forward Dave Richards, who kicked six goals.

Tom Hunt and Soloman Hanks across the half-back line were also pivotal, rebounding Inverell’s attacking plays.

Whitby and Economou each kicked three goals, while Isaiah Graham booted two.

Not for reproduction except by permission of the Armidale Independent

Round SF2 2014

Nomads def. Saints
Q16339 3321
HT12880 4428
Q31511101 5636
FT1611107 5939


  • C. Ballagh,
  • V. Chakalisa,
  • T. Dickson,
  • Z. Economou,
  • M. Foley,
  • J. Freund,
  • J. Frost,
  • A. Garraud,
  • C. Graham,
  • I. Graham,
  • T. Granleese,
  • W. Hall,
  • S. Hanks,
  • T. Hunt,
  • Z. Old,
  • L. Raymond,
  • D. Richards,
  • M. Spencer,
  • O. Temoso,
  • Z. Wells,
  • W. Whitby,
  • M. Woodward.


  • D. Richards (6),
  • W. Whitby (3),
  • Z. Economou (3),
  • I. Graham (2),
  • A. Garraud,
  • M. Spencer.

Award winners:

  • D. Richards (Players' Player),
  • A. Garraud (Coach's),
  • T. Hunt (President's),
  • J. Freund (Captain's),
  • M. Foley (Gleeson's),
  • M. Spencer (Spectators').

Comments are closed.

  • League standings

  • Swans
  • Saints
  • Roos
  • Nomads
  • Bulldogs
  • Suns & Eagles
  • Full table
  • The Nomads thank: