Ellis-Cluff wins Best and Fairest 2013

The winner of the Best and Fairest trophy for the Nomads this year is the new-comer Jed Ellis-Cluff. The runner-up was speedster Riley Connor and the Players Player Trophy was won by another of the Nomads’ Mosquito Squad, Benji Julien.

Cluff has had a wonderful year with the Nomads since coming from Echuca in the Goulburn Valley Football League. He was an integral member of the Nomads 2013 premiership team, he starred in the TAFL interleague squad and came second in the league goal competition (but for a couple of forfeits he would have undoubtedly won that as well) and was the Nomads’ leading goal-kicker. The Jeddacutta Man is only in his first year at University and the club is very much looking forward to his playing with us over the next few years.

Riley Connor, in his second year with the club, has also had a stellar season. Whilst often the smallest man at every contest, he is always the one going hardest at it. He seems to know no fear and, in this, is reminiscent of Captain Rowdy. Time and time again Rilo appeared magically out of packs with the ball in his hands looking up the field to give it to advantage. The Players’ Player winner Benji Julien also had an excellent season. This is Benji’s third season with us and again it was a pleasure to watch both his attack and the ball and his grace under pressure. Benji has a wonderful ability to read the ball in a pack and make the right choices when delivering the ball further up the field. Benji also won the most consistent award.

Most determined this year went to a club favourite Hoani Morrell. The Haitch throws himself into everything he does and made a big difference to the attack on the ball in the centre when he took the centre bounces. A newcomer to the club we look forward to watching his football develop over the next few years. Toby Machart won best first year playewr. Toby is a newcomer to the game and demonstrated an incredible aptitude for hard work. His ball sense was second to none.

Tony Dickson won the most improved trophy. Although Tony missed many games during the year, by the end of the season he was playing excellent football. Again it demonstrates the value of perseverance.

Finally, the Clubman award went to everyone’s favourite banker, Adam Parish. Parishnakov went to enormous lengths as Treasurer to ensure the club was financially viable and his efforts did not go unnoticed.

It should be said that you do not win a premiership by more than 20 goals with only a few contributors. Thus, there are many many players who missed out on trophies whose efforts were vital to winning the flag. The club wishes to thank all of you and looks forward to season 2014 where we hope to make it 3-in-a-row.

The award winners were:
Best and fairest: Jed Ellis-Cluff
Runner Up: Riley Connor
Most Consistent: Benji Julien
Most Determined: Hoani Morrell
Best First Year Player: Toby Machart
Clubman: Adam Parish
Most Improved: Tony Dickson
Goal Kicker: Jed Ellis-Cluff

PS Apologies from your correspondent for the extremely late report.

Comments are closed.

  • League standings

  • Swans
  • Saints
  • Roos
  • Nomads
  • Bulldogs
  • Suns & Eagles
  • Full table
  • The Nomads thank: