Brave Nomads slump to another defeat in Tamworth

By Josh Paterson (Armidale Express, 17/08/2009)
The New England Nomads showed a ton of pride on in Tamworth on Saturday, but eventually fell to the Tamworth Kangaroos by 25 points.

The Armidale side took it to the competition leaders though and were up by 21 points at the first break.

The Kangaroos responded in the second quarter and outscored the Nomads but it was the Armidale side still held the lead by eight points at the halftime.

The third quarter turned into a dour struggle with the Nomads clinging on to their lead before the Kangaroo kicked two more goals to wrestle the lead going into the final quarter by four points.

The Nomads continued to battle hard in the fourth but were eventually overrun 107 to 82.

Nomads coach Brendan Meehan said he was proud of his sides effort and it was only really a bit of fitness that got them in the end, saying, “we were undermanned but the boys just fought it out all day, they put in a good team effort.”

He said his players took a lot out of the game and were disappointed to have lost but were proud of the efforts against the table-topping Kangaroos side.

Meehan said the Tamworth side are definite contenders for the premiership.

Standouts for the Nomads were Hamish Pearce, Omphile Temoso, Jay Wright, Jarred Reid and Matt Maxwell.

The Nomads final game of the year is next week against the Gunnedah Bulldogs in Gunnedah and Meehan said though they will be down on troops there is no reason they can’t win.

The Nomads will stop off in Tamworth on their way home from the game for the Tamworth Australian Football League (TAFL) presentation night were Meehan was hopeful some of his players might pick up some awards.

Not for reproduction except by permission of the Armidale Express

Round 14 2009

Roos def. Nomads
Q13018 6339
HT7345 8553
Q311773 10969
FT1611107 121082


  • M. Bourke,
  • K. Clayton,
  • M. Clayton,
  • C. Dobos,
  • D. Dunlop,
  • J. Frost,
  • M. Maxwell,
  • B. Meehan,
  • J. Nougher,
  • H. Pearce,
  • W. Redhead,
  • J. Reid,
  • N. Schultz,
  • O. Temoso,
  • S. Trotman,
  • A. Walsh,
  • T. Walsh,
  • W. Webb,
  • A. Wright,
  • J. Wright.


  • C. Dobos (4),
  • S. Trotman (4),
  • D. Dunlop,
  • H. Pearce,
  • N. Schultz,
  • W. Redhead.

Award winners:

  • H. Pearce (Players'Player),
  • J. Wright (Coach's),
  • J. Reid (President's),
  • O. Temoso (Captain's).

Comments are closed.

  • League standings

  • Roos
  • Swans
  • Nomads
  • Saints
  • Bulldogs
  • Suns & Eagles
  • Full table
  • The Nomads thank: